S.C. Code Ann. § 44-115-15 – South CarolinaStatus: Enacted
Caps the amount a hospital or other provider may charge a patient for digital and paper copies of their medical records to $150 for electronic records and $200 for paper copies. The law’s passage followed an account by a South Carolina patient who was charged $3800 for a CD copy of her father’s medical records.
Return to Database Search
© 2018-2019 The SLIHCQ Database. Initial funding for this project was provided by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. The views expressed here do not necessarily reflect the views of the Foundation.